Remembering to Remember

Best Dude and I did not watch the State Of The Union Address.  There were many reasons why we chose to abstain from viewing this speech and the Democrats’ rebuttal.

The main reason is that I do not like the person that Donald Trump and his philosophy are trying to morph me into becoming.  By nature I am not angry or bitter, but every time I witness something that the President says on TV , my hackles rise and I turn into a rabid werewolf.

Donald Trump , at least in my opinion, represents the worst in America.  His words and actions glorify all that I was raised is wrong with America.

Yet I cannot let him and his hate-filled philosophy turn me into a bitter , angry, mean person. For over two years, I’ve struggled to remain true to my own values while not allowing myself to turn into a bitter, angry, middle-aged shrew.

On Monday Best Dude and I took at trip over to the beach: a much-needed dose of ” Vitamin SEA  for both of us. I took intentional time to truly experience the beauty of Creation, and engaged all my senses.

My nose smelled the salty air, the wind blew my hair gently around my face. I felt the safety of my spouse’s hand in mine and the grit of the white sand on the soles of my feet. My ears picked up the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and seagulls calling to each other.

My eyes scanned the beach for small perfect shells to carry home in the pocket of my denim jacket as a memento from our morning on the beach.  I found six shells that fit my description. When we arrived home, I’d forgotten about the shells until I saw the reminder of one of my star words ” YIZKOR”  {  Hebrew: we remember}

This morning as I was having my quiet time, I placed these six shells on my home altar and sang these words to myself as a morning prayer:

“Take, O take me as I am

Summon out what I shall be

Set your seal upon my heart

And live in me” 

This simple prayer, which we sing at church three times before receiving the Blood and Body of Christ– is a call to remind me who I am and for which I stand. I am, by my own baptism, ” marked as Christ’s own forever“. No human, not even The Mighty Donald Trump, can ever take that seal away from me.

Each day, I must remember to remember who I am , and Whose I am. Anger will not make Donald Trump go away, but there is strength in speaking with a prophetic voice to ensure that all humanity retains equal rights in the USA.

Indeed my The Spirit, in Her wisdom each morning:

Take O Take me as I am/Summon out what I should be/Set Your seal upon my heart/ and live in me. 

Love always wins.

Amen